white envelope

Background check on Nobel Peace Prize

Nobel peace prize is awarded for its phenomenal contribution to peace. In conformity with Alfred Nobel’s will, the receiver is nominated by a five-member committee appointed by the Parliament of Norway; the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

The first Nobel Peace Prize was shared by Frédéric Passy and Henry Dunant in 1901.

It started first to be awarded in the parliament of Norway from 1901 to 1904. Then in the Norwegian Nobel Institute from 1905 to 1946. Then in the Atrium of the University of Oslo from 1947 to 1989. Then in Oslo city hall from 1990 to 2019 and now the prize is awarded in the Atrium of the University of Oslo again.

The Nobel peace prize is currently held by a Filipino-American journalist and author, the co-founder, and CEO of Rappler and she is also the first Filipino to receive the Nobel Peace Prize; Maria Angelita Ressa and a Russian Journalist, television presenter, and the editor-in-chief of the Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta for their “efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace.”

The Norwegian Nobel Committee, which elects who wins the award, does not aside on choices, keeping secret for 50 years the names of proposers and unsuccessful candidates.

Who are the nominees for this year?

Pope Francis, David Attenborough, the World Health Organization, and Belarusian dissident Svetlana Tikhanovskaya are among the nominees for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize.

The Myanmar National Unity Government, a shadow government formed last year by the military rule opponents after elected leader and former peace prize laureate Aung San Suu Kyi was detained Right at the coup, was also named as an applicant.

Nominations, do not imply any confirmation from the Nobel committee. The 2021 laureate will be announced in October.

Everything you need to know about Russia and Ukraine tensions

Follow us on Twitter and stay connected with us at WhatsApp

2 thoughts on “Nobel Peace Prize Nominees”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.